G-39011/1/2024-FD

Government of India Ministry of Panchayati Raj (Fiscal Devolution Division)

11th Floor, Jeevan Prakash Building 25th KG Marg, New Delhi – 110001

Date: 29th October 2024

Office Order

The Government of India has recently set up the Sixteenth Finance Commission to make recommendations in respect of the terms of reference formulated for the Commission. The Ministry of Panchayati Raj would be submitting a Memorandum for the consideration of the Sixteenth Finance Commission. To assist this Ministry in the preparation of the Memorandum to the Commission, an Expert Committee is hereby constituted with the following composition:

i.	Shri A K Mehta, Former Chief Secretary, J&K	Chair
ii.	Dr. Jos Chatukulam, Director, Centre for Rural Management (CRM), Kottayam, Kerala	Member
iii.	Dr Shubhasis Gangopadhyay, Founding Dean of Indian School of Public Policy, New Delhi	Member
iv.	Prof. V N Alok, Professor, Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), New Delhi	Member
v.	Dr. Manish Gupta, Associate Professor at the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi	Member
vi.	Ms. Mamta Varma, Joint Secretary, MoPR	Convenor & Member Secretary

- 2. The Expert Committee shall have the following Terms of Reference:
 - i. To suggest measures for fiscal sustainability of Panchayat Raj Institutions.
 - ii. To propose measurable performance-based incentives for the Rural Local Bodies.

- iii. To suggest measure to address the issues of funds, functions and functionaries through the Finance Commission recommendations.
- iv. To provide recommendations for augmentation of Own Sources of Revenue
- v. To finalize the Draft Memorandum to be submitted to the XV FC based on the reports/studies conducted by the Ministry and data/ information available with MoPR or received from the State PR Departments.
- vi. To give suggestions on any other issues which by common consent have a bearing on the subject under discussion.

The Committee may co-opt/invite domain experts from various departments/organizations/institutions in its deliberations/meetings as & when required.

- 3. For non-official & Ex-official member(s), the provision for the payment of sitting fees and allowance etc. shall be in accordance with the Department of Expenditure's OM no. 19047/10/2016-E-IV dated 12th April 2017 and OM No. 19047/10/2016-E-IV dated 14th September 2017, respectively.
- 4. Shri. S. Mohit Rao, Consultant (FD), will support the Committee in its day-to-day operations.

5. This issues with the approval of the Secretary, Ministry of Panchayati Raj.

(Ram Pratap)

Director

Copy to:

- i. PPS to SPR
- ii. Sr. PPS / PPS / PS to JS (APN)/JS(MV)/JS(VK) / CCA (AJ)
- iii. Shri A K Mehta, Former Chief Secretary, J&K
- iv. Dr. Jos Chatukulam, Director, Centre for Rural Management (CRM), Kottayam, Kerala
- v. Dr. Shubhasis Gangopadhyay, Founding Dean of Indian School of Public Policy, New Delhi
- vi. Prof. V N Alok, Professor, Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), New Delhi
- vii. Dr. Manish Gupta, Associate Professor at the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi